Open Menu

North Carolina Independent Colleges & Universities

NCICU, or North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities, is comprised of the state’s 36 private, nonprofit liberal arts, research, and comprehensive colleges and universities accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). NCICU’s board of directors is comprised of the presidents of each of the 36 institutions and the president of NCICU serves on the Governor’s North Carolina Education Cabinet.  

NCICU represents independent higher education in matters of state and federal public policy, in addition to being an advocate on issues in other sectors of education in the state.

To learn more about the college access programs available at the independent colleges and universities you can view the Comprehensive Guide to N.C.'s Independent Colleges & Universities.  This guide is full of valuable information on all 36 institutions and includes majors, tuition, admissions requirements, and much more. In addition, you may visit NCICU to contact the college access coordinator at the institution of your choice or for additional information and assistance.

The following independent colleges and universities endorse the Independent Comprehensive Articulation Agreement (ICAA).

  • Barton College
  • Belmont Abbey College
  • Bennett College for Women
  • Brevard College
  • Campbell University
  • Chowan University
  • Guilford College
  • Lees-McRae College
  • Lenoir-Rhyne University
  • Livingstone College
  • Mars Hill College
  • Meredith College
  • Methodist University
  • Montreat College
  • North Carolina Wesleyan College
  • Pfeiffer University
  • Salem College
  • Shaw University
  • St. Andrews University
  • University of Mount Olive
  • William Peace University
  • Wingate University

Get Started Today

Visit Us or Apply Now