Search
Open Menu

Truck Driver Training

Graduates of the truck driver training program stand beside truck with instructors

Richmond Community College offers commercial driver's license training to prepare the next generation of truck drivers and other heavy vehicle operators. 

Upon completion of the course, students will take the final road test for their commercial driver’s license at RichmondCC’s training facility in Laurinburg. Students will not have to go to the DMV. 


Class A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)

This license allows the driver to operate any vehicle with a semi-trailer or trailer with two or more axles. This also includes any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) greater than 26,000 pounds (provided that the GVWR of the towed vehicle is in excess of 10,000 pounds).Depending on additional endorsements acquired, drivers with Class A CDLs may be able to operate tractor-trailers, truck and trailer combinations, double and triple trailers, tractor-trailer buses, tanker vehicles, livestock carriers and flatbeds.

Orientation

TBA 

2024 Class Dates | Scotland County Campus

  • Aug. 5 - Oct. 3, Monday through Thursday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on the Scotland County Campus
  • Oct. 14 - Dec. 12

Admission Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years old. (Graduates under 21 years old can only drive within North Carolina.)
  • Must have a valid Class C driver's license.
  • Be able to read and speak English well enough to take instructions from highway signs, to converse officials and complete the required reports.
  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent. If you do not have a high school diploma or equivalent, you will need to take the Accuplacer Next Generation Reading test and score of 237 or higher.
  • Acquire a North Carolina Class A permit with no limiting restrictions before the highway-driving portion of your training.
  • Pass a DOT physical and/or hold a valid (12-month minimum) DOT medical card. 
  • Complete and pass a DOT drug screen.
  • Show proof of permanent residency. All immigrants must have proper paperwork.
  • Provide a current driving record.

Due to the STRICT REQUIREMENTS of most trucking companies, you must also have:

  • A current Motor Vehicle Record with no convictions in the past three years of DUI, refusal to take a chemical test, hit and run, leaving the scene of an accident, careless and reckless driving, a preventable accident or speeding 15 mph over the limit.

Class Curriculum

This course involves extensive training divided into three parts:

CLASSROOM

  • CDL Permit & Endorsement Instruction
  • Driver Qualification
  • Driver Wellness
  • Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
  • Hours of Service & Map Reading
  • Vehicle Inspection
  • Air Brake Training
  • Defensive Driving
  • Cargo Handling
  • Whistle Blowing Protection

RANGE DRIVING

  • Pre-trip Inspection
  • Basic Vehicle Control
  • Proper Use of Clutch & Gears
  • Proper Backing Techniques
  • Coupling/Uncoupling

ROAD DRIVING

  • Defensive Driving
  • Vehicle Control
  • Proper Use of Clutch & Gears
  • Roads & Conditions
  • Observation of Highway Laws
  • Loaded Trailers
  • Night Driving

Course Cost

$800

Please see our policy for refunds on continuing education classes here: Refund Policy


Class B Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)

This license is required for driving a single vehicle with a GVWR of more than 26,001 pounds, and a trailer not to exceed 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating. Drivers may be able to operate straight trucks, box trucks (such as delivery trucks), and dump trucks with small trailers.

Our truck driver training program consists of 5 weeks of extensive classroom, range and road driving. In addition to classroom hours, the training requires 40 hours of online coursework. The class is for students who do not have a Class A or B permit but will obtain their permit by the end of the first week of class. At the conclusion of the class, our licensed examiners will administer the Class B-Commercial Driver License (CDL) final licensing examination. The admissions requirements are the same as Class A. Students must obtain their Class B permit prior to the end of the first week. 

Class Dates

TBD

Class B-CDL Truck Driver Training Curriculum

The course involves extensive training, divided into 3 parts. Some examples of the training provided in each part are shown below:

Classroom

  • Basic Operation
  • Safe Operating Procedures
  • Advanced Operating Procedures/li>
  • Vehicle Systems and Reporting Malfunctions
  • Non-Driving Activities

Range Driving

  • Vehicle Inspection Pre-Trip/Enroute/Post-Trip
  • Alley Dock Backing (45/90 Degree)
  • Off-Set Backing
  • Parallel Parking Blind Side
  • Parallel Parking Sight Side

Road Driving

  • Vehicle Controls
  • Shifting/Transmission
  • Communications/Signaling
  • Visual Search
  • Speed & Space Management
  • Safe Driver Behavior
  • Hours of Service Requirements
  • Hazard Perception
  • Railroad-Highway Grade Crossing
  • Night Operation
  • Extreme Driving Conditions
  • Skid Control/Recover, Jackknifing, and other Emergencies

Course Costs

Tuition and fees: TBA

A deposit of $599 will be due at the time of application with a completed scholarship form. 

Scholarships are available to help offset the costs of the course.

Please see our policy for refunds on continuing education classes here: Refund Policy


Behind-the-Wheel Training

This 3-week program is for those who have a valid CLP (Commercial Learners Permit). It includes the range and road driving, pre-trip inspection, and log book recording portions of the Truck Driver Training program.

Entry Level Driver Training (ELDT) theory is required to obtain a commercial driver's license. Experience with manual transmissions (clutch and shifting gears) and towing is highly recommended as this course is designed to hone limited or basic skills. Instructors will need verification of driving skills before acceptance into 3 week program.

Class Dates

  • July 1 - July 25, Monday through Thursday from 8 a..m. to 5 p.m. at the Morgan Center | Scotland County Campus
  • Sept. 9 - Oct. 3 Monday through Thursday from 8 a..m. to 5 p.m. at the Morgan Center | Scotland County Campus
  • Nov. 11 - Dec.12 Monday through Thursday from 8 a..m. to 5 p.m. at the Morgan Center | Scotland County Campus

Course Cost

  • Tuition and fees: $499

Please see our policy for refunds on continuing education classes here: Refund Policy

To Sign Up

Call Student Services at (910) 410-1700.

Program Links

Other Programs You Might Be Interested In